Cuyahoga County Board of Developmental Disabilities Return to Home Page Return to Home Page Contact Us Staff Login

You are here: Home > Provider Resources > Certification

Provider Certification

If you have any questions, call (216) 931-7474 or email

What Is the Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver (HCBS)?

The HCBS waiver is a Medicaid-funded program to pay for services to individuals with developmental disabilities. There are three waivers: the Individual Options waiver, the Level One waiver and the Self Waiver. Individuals who are enrolled on any of the waivers can use the waiver to receive services in their home rather than living in an intermediate care facility for people who have a developmental disability. Information about each of the waivers, eligibility and definition of services are found in the handbooks below:


Non-Waiver Community-Funded Supports

Some individuals may be eligible for services from the Cuyahoga County Board of DD but not for waiver enrollment, or they may need supports but are waiting for a waiver slot to become available. They may receive non-waiver supports, which are paid for by the Cuyahoga County Board of DD through its local tax dollars.

Anyone who wants to work with individuals who do not have a waiver must be certified as a waiver provider for supported living by the Ohio Department of DD. The training requirements and application fee for supported living certification are the same as for waiver certification.

See the non-waiver community-funded supports page.


How to Become a Certified Waiver Provider

All independent providers, chief executive officers of agency providers and direct services employees of agency providers are required to become certified in order to provide services to individuals. Below are the provider certification and training requirements for agency providers and independent providers:

All potential and renewing providers must obtain a user name and password to access the Ohio Department of DD website and the Provider Certification Wizard.
The tutorial below will help you do that.

The Ohio Department of DD processes certification applications and maintains the official list of certified waiver providers. These are helpful instructions on using the Provider Certification Wizard:

Congratulations, You Are a Certified Provider!

There is a lot of information to be aware of once you become a certified provider. And knowing how to access information from the Ohio Department of DD website and updating your information is essential.


Certification Renewal

Background Checks

CCBDD Provider Support is available to complete background checks for independent providers and agency providers.  They are done by appointment only.  If you make an appointment and can't make it please be courteous to notify us.

The cost of the Ohio BCII is $25.00, the FBI check is $50.00 and is for anyone who has lived outside of Ohio in the last 5 years.  The only form of payment that can be accepted is VISA, MasterCard or Discover card. No cash, checks or money orders can be accepted.

Provider Support is doing the BCII's at our Administration Building at 1275 Lakeside Ave., Cleveland, Ohio and our Operations Center at 4553 Hinckley Industrial Parkway, Cleveland, Ohio.

For an appointment or more information contact Provider Support at 216-931-7474 or email

For other locations see the link below.

Helpful Links


Online Training

For BCI locations

For Driver's Abstract-Transportation Providers Only

Drug Screening for Non-Medical Transportation Providers

  • Providers and Agencies can choose where to go for drug screening. The provider needs to request a 5 to 7 panel screening.  Here is a link to one suggestion

Provider Certification

More Helpful Resources

Powered by the Information Services Center      
Cuyahoga County Board of Developmental Disabilities
1275 Lakeside Avenue East
Cleveland, Ohio 44114-1129
PHONE: (216)241-8230 - FAX: (216)861-0253